Skip to main content


Water and Sanitation Districts are Special Districts, governmental subdivisions of the State of New Mexico.  A Water and Sanitation District may be created to construct/maintain/operate water facilities, sewage and garbage disposal, roads, parks, public and recreational facilities, and economic development projects.  The Timberon Water and Sanitation District is responsible for the water system, roads, community center, cemetery, waste removal, and recreational facilities within our community.  This is funded by a combination of taxes, charges, and fees levied against properties located within the District’s boundaries.  All the income received is allocated among the appropriate facilities or services provided, as outlined below.



Standby Charge of $61.15 per property each year is charged against non-metered land that has a water distribution line adjacent to it.  This charge, and Metered Water sales, fund the water system in Timberon.  The Timberon Water and Sanitation District maintains/operates approximately 100 miles of distribution lines, five storage tanks, two wells, and a water filtration plant, to supply potable water and fire suppression for the community.

Facility and Services Fee of $30 per property each year, along with a 9.885 mill levy on Property Taxes, is charged against all properties within the District.



The Timberon Water and Sanitation District was formed to promote the health, safety, prosperity, security, and general welfare of our community.  Over 30 years ago the Community, County and the Courts determined there was a great and immediate need for organized community services here, finding no viable alternative, they created a Water and Sanitation District to provide the necessary services for Timberon.  Water and Sanitation Districts are heavily regulated in New Mexico by the Environment Department, Department of Finance, and Attorney General.  Our District has a five-person elected Board of Directors that meets twice a month. Board meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month.  The meetings are open to the public.

Join our mailing list